Moving on up

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Moving on up

I started working for an internet gaming site back in May, and just 3 or 4 weeks ago now I was promoted into the poker department. Last week I found out that there was a new position opening up for Tournament Coordinator, so I threw my hat into the ring for that, not expecting to get the position as I'd only just recently been promoted and have less experience than other potential applicants.

So I just got an e-mail saying I have an interview for the position tomorrow. This company doesn't waste time interviewing with people if they aren't being heavily considered because it means taking me off my post to do it. I know others who have been just flat out told when they aren't going to get the job, so I'm in pretty high spirits right now.

But I'm not exactly sure what the position entails. Also, its a video interview with a guy in Vancouver. I've never done a video interview before, so I'm afraid I'm going to find some way to mess this interview up. Any tips ya'll?
    Resident Filipina Lady Boy Expert.

1. If nobody else applied for the position, perhaps there's a reason... However, it could just be that they like you and think you're a strong fit for the position (or want to keep you in the company). Do check around with your coworkers to make sure this isn't a ****ty position, though.

2. Video interview: I haven't had this, but the standard rules should apply. Dress well, especially the top part (as you probably won't be seen below the waist), wear something with a lot of contrast so you show up more clearly, and make sure you speak loud enough and clear enough for the mike to pick you up (enunciate clearly).