Who pays when no one is blameworthy?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Who pays when no one is blameworthy?

If this sounds like homework, this is something I studied as an undergrad, years ago. I was thinking about it recently and thought it would make a good thread topic. Writting this hypothetical up myself now.

Bob is in his backyard and using a chainsaw to cut down a tree in his yard. Bob is using a chainsaw that he takes very good care of. Bob has experience in using a chainsaw. Bob has experience and has taken classes in the proper way to cut down trees. Bob has the highest standard of knowledge for the use of chainsaws and cutting down trees and is doing so in the safest possible manner. He is being VERY VERY careful to ensure the tree falls in the right direction, into his yard and not, onto the house of his neighbor Steve.

Bob has no familly history of heart attacks, siezures or any serious health problems etc. Bob is in good health. Bob regularly goes to a qualified physician.

While Bob is cutting down the tree, he has a siezure and his chainsaw slips, he makes a bad cut and the tree falls in the wrong direction. It falls onto his neighbor Steve's house. Steve's house is destroyed. Bob recovers from his siezure and calls an ambulance then rushes to see if anyone in Steve's house is hurt.

It would be safe to say most people would agree Bob is blameless, he did not do anything wrong, yet he was instrumental in causing harm to someone else. Who should suffer the cost of fixing Steve's house? The person who caused the harm? Bob is not blameworthy, he did nothing wrong. Should Steve accept the loss and have to pay to fix his house? Steve is utterly blameless and did nothing to deserve his house being crushed.

In virtually all of the United States, the law says that Bob should pay for Steve's house.