The Big Bang time paradox

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Big Bang time paradox

It is postulated that time did not exist before the big bang.

The problem arises - if time did not exist, neither did change. If change did not exist, then the Bid Bang should never have happened at all - everything should have stayed static. Why didn't that happen? Or is our premise itself wrong - time did, in fact, exist before the Big Bang, therefore making the initial state something of a transient one?

Any answer?

I'm not a big proponent of the nothing happened before the big bang.

I've heard theories that the universe collapses upon itself and then another big bang occurs in a repeating cycle.

Comment

Dis: Sure, and then it's turtles all the way down.
      This is Shireroth, and Giant Squid will brutally murder me if I ever remove this link from my signature | In the end it won't be love that saves us, it will be mathematics | So many people have this concept of God the Avenger. I see God as the ultimate sense of humor -- SlowwHand

Comment

Originally posted by Ari Rahikkala
        Dis: Sure, and then it's turtles all the way down.
        How do you address the paradox, then?

Comment

My understanding is that Time and Space are properties of the Universe and have meaning only within it. "Before" the Big Bang is as meaningless as "Outside the Universe" (in a spatial sense). When you ask "why dosn't it just stay the same" Your giving the "Nothing" a reality it dose not have, it is pure unadulteraded non-existence devoid of all concivable properties and atributes. Only something which exists can be said to be static OR changing, for example a non existent dog is neither on fire nor is it not on fire. Thus the absense of time dose not imply a kind of never-ending stasis which the Universe "breaks" at the Big-Bang. Dose this help?