Graphics card fan problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Graphics card fan problem

Thing is, the fan on my 9800 Pro just stopped working, and my card overheats if I try to do anything taxing, like play games. This is not good.

Anyone have any experience of graphics card fans going wrong? I took a quick look at it and nothing appears displaced with the fan connection.

It's a 3 year old card, not too surprising it's bit the dust. Time for a new graphics card methinks.
    "I work in IT so I'd be buggered without a computer" - Words of wisdom from Provost Harrison
    "You can be wrong AND jewish" - Wiglaf :love:

Comment

The fan can just die ... mine did a few years back. Ball bearings wearing out or some such.

It shouldn't be expensive to replace the fan, though. Alternatively, you can try with a well-placed case fan, which would help a little at least (depending on the card, i'm not sure how hot 9800s usually run).
      <Reverend> IRC is just multiplayer notepad.
      I like your SNOOPY POSTER! - While you Wait quote.

Comment

Hot, it appears.

I'm sure buying a new card is the easiest option, but forking out when I don't really need an upgrade (WoW, GW and Civ4 all play fine) just because the ball bearing wore out on the fan or whatever is a bit annoying.

Comment

Replacing the fan is pretty easy and far cheaper than getting a new card.
          "The issue is there are still many people out there that use religion as a crutch for bigotry and hate. Like Ben."
          Ben Kenobi: "That means I'm doing something right. "

Comment

Stay cool with an effective CPU air cooler from Overclockers UK featuring exceptional thermal performance, great aesthetics, and even RGB lighting!

How about the bottom one here? How can I check whether it fits the card? It says no need for a bracket, and I don't need to change the heatsinks I think.

Comment

Apparently these are quite good