Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help me build my Xmas pc(and drag me past 1Ghz for the first time!)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help me build my Xmas pc(and drag me past 1Ghz for the first time!)

I'm not going for top of the gaming range on this pc, just something expandable and cheap as possible.

I've never built a complete pc before, but have a few sites(PCmech+Tomshardware) for reference etc.

At the momment i've been trying to come up with the componant parts for my xmas present, and its looking like this so far:

Motherboard - Asustek A8N-E S939 nforce4 ultra ATX[24 pin Atx power connector](£70)

Processor - AMD Athlon 64 3700 socket 939 with 1MB cache+fan(£170)

Case+PSU midi tower with 400W PSU(is 400 too much for this kind of rig? would 250 or 300W be enough?) - also of the 24 pine ATX power supply connector type.(£26)

Memmory 512 MB PC3200 Corsair memmory(400mhz Dimm184 pin type) (£30)

Graphics card Gigabyte Geforce PCX6600 256MB PCI-Express DVI-I (£80)

SoundCard - not sure yet, but it will be one with as many input/outputs as possible as i'll be looking to make music/attach a keyboard etc.

So far its about the £400 mark if i include a floppy and mouse+keyboard etc - which is around what i'm looking to spend, maybe another +£100 for the soundcard?

The operating system is taken care of - i'm just hoping the componants i've chosen wont fight against each other too much. I believe the motherboard and proccesor will run at the same bus speeds(2000mhz) , and the PC-3200 ram will also not be a bottle neck?

Still this is new territory for me so any helpful suggestions for my newbie attempts will be much appriciated

My current PC's are pretty old, and the source of too much amusement for some in the other games section! Its way past time for me to break that 1GHz.
    Last edited by child of Thor; December 12, 2005, 14:48.