Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• In which I vent, nonspecifically

Bleh.

So I've been working for the last several months on my capstone project. (In our program, this is like a thesis, only for undergrads.) I've known since I started that there was a good chance it would make several companies with enough cash to buy and sell everybody I've ever known several times unhappy...but I figured, might as well go for it. Foolish me, I was depending on the law to protect me.

So I made the project as defensible as possible. Through a favor to a friend, I managed to get a lawyer who specializes in the area and has argued this sort of case as high as the supreme court to look at it, and their conclusion was it is perfectly legal. Of course, that doesn't protect me from shut-up-and-go-away suits, so I figured to run the project through a non-profit corporation...even if I can't afford to defend the project, at least I would personally be protected. Except now I'm told that there's a case in front of the Maine supreme court right now that calls into question whether a one-person corporation has any protections...and the case won't be decided until well after I would launch my project.

So basically I have a perfectly legal project that I can't launch because I don't have the money to protect myself or the project from nuisance lawsuits. Not like I have anything to protect, really...what are they going to do, seize my student loan debt? But I'm getting married soon, hopefully will shortly graduate and need a job and apartment, and I can't risk being sued into bankruptcy. This is ridiculous.

Ok. End vent.
    "In the beginning was the Word. Then came the ******* word processor." -Dan Simmons, Hyperion

Your school doesn't have a claim to your project?
    Monkey!!!

Comment

I don't understand the first paragraph - what the heck are you doing?
      Visit First Cultural Industries