Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Business Question: Why does Coca Cola still advertise?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Business Question: Why does Coca Cola still advertise?

I'm no economics expert but I'll try what I can to break my line of thought down for y'all.

Advertising exists either to create a desire to buy, or to tell the customer where to buy, right?

Coke doesn't need to be advertised in the first world. Not even in the remotest Siberian snowdrift or the deepest West Virgina valley will you find someone who hasn't tasted Coke before, unless they're a health nut and they're not going to drink it anyway, but everyone who would ever want to know about Coke and can afford it semi regularly knows about it.

"Where to buy"? All I know is, it's in every restaurant and supermarket plus millions of vending machines in America; and probably every restaurant and supermarket in Europe too. Only people in the poorest regions of the world can't have a can every now and then.

Therefore--why do I see Coke (and Pepsi) commercials on every American TV channel?
    meet the new boss, same as the old boss

I presume it is as a reminder to people, puts the thought fresh in their mind...
    Speaking of Erith:

"It's not twinned with anywhere, but it does have a suicide pact with Dagenham" - Linda Smith

Comment

Re: Business Question: Why does Coca Cola still advertise?

Originally posted by mrmitchell
      Therefore--why do I see Coke (and Pepsi) commercials on every American TV channel?
      That's the answer to your question.
      With or without religion, you would have good people doing good things and evil people doing evil things. But for good people to do evil things, that takes religion.

Steven Weinberg

Comment