Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• An ethical question regarding school policy on software

First , the background .

I am a CS student at my school , and out lab has standardised on Windows 2000 server with Windows 98 as clients . All the machines are P4s , with 128 MB ram , except the server , which is a P4 with 256 MB RAM .

Now , the syllabus for CS is C++ programming . We use the Turbo C++ compiler/IDE . The problem is , it is not standards compliant ( at least with the latest standard ) . And it is also a proprietary product ( not that that is a problem , just an inconvenience ) .

Now , the problem is with standards . Had the lab and the textbooks used standards compliant code , then the code would have worked on all compilers and platforms . If the code ( and proprietary compiler ) is standards compliant , the student who has a computer at home has three choices -

a) Buy the product used at school
    b) Use a free alternative to the product used at school ( GCC , MINGW , Dev-Cpp , etc. )
    c) Pirate the product used at school

If , then , a student cannot afford a copy of Turbo C++ , they can just go for a free alternative .

If , however , the code is not standards compliant , then the student has the second choice eliminated . He can only either buy the product , or pirate . If the student cannot afford such a product , he MUST pirate it .

There is another option , but that is not practicable for any except the people like me , who are fanatically interested in CS . It is to learn the new standard the hard way ( using the Internet , and figuring out terse and incomprehensible compiler error output ) , and use different code at school and home - as I said , not practical for anyone except the hardcore geeks .