No announcement yet.

Kids, Driving, and the Occasional Deer.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Kids, Driving, and the Occasional Deer.

I thought I knew all there was to know about driving. I mean I'm a pro at this only two times leaving the roadway and both times was due to ice so I figure I'm cool with all my mulititasking while driving down the interstate or back country roads. That was of course until I started driving with my girlfriends kids . They are everywhere. Asking this and that. Getting into things they shouldnt. Feet on the dash, hands grabbing at things in the others hands. I'm an experienced driver with years of eating, reading a map, talking on the phone under my belt all the while going about 75. Now I'm creeping along worried about what they are gonna grab next. Finally I pulled the ole Gameboy advanced out of retirment and found that there is something that will hypnotize them into being still while im going down the road. Unless of course I have both then the one without the gameboy is wanting it and the other is enthralled with Dig Dug or Galaga.

On to the animal problem. In the past month I have seen more deer jump out in front of me than I used to see while I was actually out in the woods hunting for them. Now I'd just like to make it home without planting one on my hood.

Total for March
    1 deer hit
    4 four nearly hit
    6 deer that clearly wanted to go but was smart enough to let the lead deer take all the risks.
    1 poor squirrel that was not so smart

Lessons learned. When one runs out in front of you, count to 3 and you will usually see a couple more running right behind.
    Which side are we on? We're on the side of the demons, Chief. We are evil men in the gardens of paradise, sent by the forces of death to spread devastation and destruction wherever we go. I'm surprised you didn't know that. --Saul Tigh