How I would destroy the tobacco companies

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How I would destroy the tobacco companies

Firstly, whilst I am not a smoker, I do enjoy the odd cigar every now and again... I am also a business/marketing strategist by profession.

Most countries around the world have banned or controlled cigarette advertisements and enacted legislation to curb the places where one can light up. Furthermore, most jurisdications mandate a government health warning in one form or another.

Every smoker I have talked to has their preferred brand (Malboro light, Dunhill, Silkcut etc etc etc etc) or will buy a certain brand due to advertising or promotion.

What I would propose, if I were the preverbial emperor for a day, would be to ban all forms of branding, promotion or marketing (except for government health warnings) on cigarette packets. Ergo, the only thing you would see on the store shelf would be a small white carboard box with the warning that smoking may harm your unborn baby.

How would this control or bring down the tobacco companies you ask?

Well I shall answer that with a question. If you can not tell which brand you are buying (due to the lack of promotion or branding on the packet) how can you buy your favourite malboros, silkcuts or dunhills? The confusion would mean that consumers would get gradually cheesed off as they would continually be smoking something other than their brand and the companies would be unable to forecast sales.