newbie here!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• newbie here!

though i´am not an apolyton rookie i visit this forum the first time. i never heared about diplomacy before but i like what i see.

-seems to be turn based.....?
    -how long does a turn/game take?
    -where can i find rules?
    -is it difficult?
    -how can i participate?
    -do i need software/anything else?
    -who makes the maps?
    -how many people play in a game?
    -how many people play this game here?
    -is there something i really should know?

well, many quesions, enough for the moment.

------------------
    god made weed.....you don´t really think he fails sometimes?

weed god, chief of EUROPA
    visit EUROPA: www.multispieler.de
    weird god, EUROPA

*cowers in fear at inability to answer*

Comment

1. Yes, it is turn-based, but all players submit their orders at one time, then move on to the next turn, and then so on. All events occur at the same time per turn. So you could call it real-time in a year-by-year basis.

2. A turn usually takes 3-5 days, which is average for a good-sized map. If it's a larger map, turns will be longer, and if it's the winter adjustment or retreats, turns are usually very short. A game can take anywhere from a few months to more than a year.

3. The official rulebook isn't available on the internet because it's the property of Avalon Hill and they don't like it when we put up the rules up on the 'net. However, there are tutorials abound including one right here at Apolyton, but the best way to learn is to jump right into a game and pick it up along the way. The Diplomacy Pouch is a great resource.

4. The semantics of the game itself is easy to grasp. The hard part is figuring out who's your allies and who's not, and who's lying and who's telling the truth.

5. You participate by becoming a player -- taking up a nation -- and that's it.