HOI2 -- Wow..

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HOI2 -- Wow..

Um...i read the manual and played the HO2 tutorials but I just don't get how to play this game.

I started playing one of the big WW2 scenarios. I know, i'm supposed to start small but I wanted to try it.

I get a million popups about political influence. Okay, disregard. Now I notice I can't see anywhere in the world but the US. That's a bit disconcerting. I send a spy, he's caught, oh well.

Now I'm trying to get some units over there. I send my fleets over to Pearl Harbor. I have no idea how to send them anywhere else, especially the Europoean theater, since I don't have naval bases over there (or do I?)

I'm also confused about combat. How do you know when you'll probably win? In Civ4 you get a percentage chance. Here I have absolutely no clue how to predict a battle's outcome. In some smaller scenarios I played, battles kept popping up and I couldn't even see where they were without clicking the Battles tab.

In short I am completely overwhelmed. Have no clue what to do in this or any scenario. Game has terrible documentation. Any advice?

Start with Germany and not US.
    gtg sorry, will post more after work (If I remember this Topic )
    Curse your sudden but inevitable betrayal!

Comment

Starting a WWII game with playing the US

Comment

Er, what's the problem..?

Comment

Don't start playing with USA. Give up your current game, play through all the tutorials, it should take only like 40 minutes total and is relatively fun. If you MUST have to try the grand campaign first, pick up Germany or USSR; they both have land-based armed forces. Remember that you have to declare war on a nation from the main diplomacy menu before you can attack it.

I've turned almost all the pop-ups off, you can do it like this: when a pop-up comes up, right-click anywhere in it, and select "don't display this type of messages anymore" or one of the other options.