Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Magic: the Gathering goes hybrid fantasy! End of the world as we knew it?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Magic: the Gathering goes hybrid fantasy! End of the world as we knew it?

A Peruvian website has obtained (no doubt from mtgnews or another spoon-fed "rumor" site) artwork from the upcoming Mirrodin expansion.

The tone is decidedly science fiction-y. The official Wizards of the Coasts boards are in uproar, predicting (yet again) the death of Magic: the Gathering.

Now I'm no expert, but I think the new art looks super-cool. And I also question how people could accept Anne McCaffrey's Dragons of Pern and not accept hybrid fantasy in Magic.
    Everything changes, but nothing is truly lost.

I see Icy Manipulator is back ... and I agree: the artwork does look mostly good
    "I didn't invent these rules, I'm just going to use them against you."

Comment

Yeah, do you get planeswalkers in Dragonriders of Pern? Eh, do you?
      (\__/) 07/07/1937 - Never forget
      (='.'=) "Claims demand evidence; extraordinary claims demand extraordinary evidence." -- Carl Sagan
      (")_(") "Starting the fire from within."

Comment

Magic fans are so conservative. The best thing about the game is how the rules are constantly changing and updating to keep it fresh, and yet any time something is changed the fans predict doom and gloom for the game.
        If I'm posting here then Counterglow must be down.

Comment

Besides, they're probably fakes anyway.
          If I'm posting here then Counterglow must be down.

Comment

Originally posted by FrustratedPoet
            The best thing about the game is how the rules are constantly changing and updating to keep it fresh
            That's why you need a team of lawyers to figure things out
            (\__/) 07/07/1937 - Never forget
            (='.'=) "Claims demand evidence; extraordinary claims demand extraordinary evidence." -- Carl Sagan