Some thoughts on the UI / CTP 2

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Some thoughts on the UI / CTP 2

Ive been playing this game for a few days now and I didnt play CTP 1 [besides for a couple games and returning it] and i've been playing civ2 for several years and I keep reading about how difficult the ai is. I've suprisingly enjoyed it a bit [its not civ3 but hey civ2 is pretty old and alpha centauri is well, very boring]. And there are some innovations that you grow to like [like not guiding caravans]

Yet as I play, everygame is pretty much over after I conquer one other civ [i usually finish conquering the 1st civ by the time i get cannons, i start when i get catapults]. I found that if you can survive the first 50-100 turns then the game is pretty much yours. And then I can usually force other civs to join an alliance[through threat of declaring war]. And the game gets pretty pointless and very tedious after that.

And i found the games to be more difficult with continents as the computer is even more unable to launch a comprehensive invasion from the sea. I found the game to be much easier with the additional # of turns [though I do like the slower pace of tech]

Any suggestions to make the later modern era more relevant[like fighters, bombers, etc]. And especially the future ages.

Oh yeah theres a bug[yeah its an unsupported feature], you cant get a diplomatic victory if you adjust the max # of civs.

Well I'm really waiting for Civ III.

Try a higher difficulty level
    Dont tell me you already won at impossible!

Besides if you didnt know the AI in Civ2 cheats a LOT!!! Thats why it is good. Did you never wonder why they know exactly where all your ships are and why they can reach you with their cruise missles long before you can reach them?
    You cant even come close (with ships) to an enemy nation in civ2 when they have cruise missles. Or at least just with Aegis Cruisers.