Looking for PBEM Newbie faq

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for PBEM Newbie faq

I'm going to be playing in my first C:CTP PBEM here shortly. Iwas wondering if there is a newbie faq out there somewhere. I'm new to PBEM in general but I'm very familiar with Civ.

Thanks,
    Tyr
    -Tyr
    To be prepared for war is one of the most effectual means of preserving peace.
    George Washington, Speech to both Houses of Congress, Jan. 8, 1790.
    Bartlett's Familiar Quotations

Check out the CTP:Help threads, they may be of some use. Do you have patch 1.2 and Hack updates? If not you will need to install them.

Any other problems, post a new thread in the CTP:Help section.

:-)

Comment

Well, I posted this in the Help Forum as well and have yet to get any response there at all. If no forum faq exists it looks like I'll have to build my own! Here are some of the questions that I have (some of which have already been answered but I'm building a faq here so bear with me) as well as some really basic questions that people even less experienced than I might have.
      Since I can't know all of the questions I should be asking I want to enlist the help of all you fine people to build this faq.

Thanks,
      Tyr

Q: What is PBEM?
      A: PBEM stands for Play by e-mail, a form of multiplayer game where each player submits his moves by email. In C:CTP the entire game file is rotated through the players by email, with each player taking thier turn in order. How large does that file tend to get?

Q: How do I start a PBEM game?
      A: If this is your first time playing PBEM your best bet is probably to post a request for a game or look for announcements of games starting up in the Apolyton Civ:CTP Multiplaying forum. (Where else might someone look?)

If you want to start your own game I would suggest playing in a few started by others first to get a feel of how they operate before you try it yourself.