Should piracy be allowed in CTP PBEM?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should piracy be allowed in CTP PBEM?

I haven't seen any rules written anywhere about this so far, but I realize that a player could modify his const.txt file to gain plenty of gold from piracy. This has been subject to debate many times in the past, but no one has ever bothered to address it in the PBEM community.
    Yes
    78.26%
    No
    21.74%
    "I'm an engineer. I make slides that people can't read. Sometimes I eat donuts." - Alice

Damnit I meant to say yes not no!
    Piracy/pillaging are a part of war. Should PBEM players agree not to do such acts and a nation to break, well thats a part of diplomacy. Should, in a 1on1 game, the player agree not toand some one break that agreement, thats bad sportsmanship.
    So one guy turns to another guy and says "T.A.I." His friends says "What?" He responds by saing "Think about it;)"

Comment

Piracy/pillaging are part of my stealth war strategy. My greatest satifaction is causing multiple city revolts with well timed piracy/pillaging. Hitting multiple trade routes of your opponent puts a server strain on his budget. The games budget balancing mechanism is to reduce wages and sell city improvements, thus causing unhappiness. Add to this capitol distance unhappiness which rises when you cut the road/railroad to remote cities, and you can get a domino effect. I have caused civs to lose every city over the population of 5 during the late modern/ early genetic age. Without piracy/pillaging I lose another weapon in my arsenal.
      "The greatest happiness of life is the conviction that we are loved - loved for ourselves, or rather, loved in spite of ourselves."--Victor Hugo

Comment

Of course pirating would be moot if trading were disallowed

Seriously pirating and pillaging tile improvments are part of the game. Next someone will want to outlaw all stealth units.