X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Colonies

Hi!

....hm, the OCC game...

I've never used them before (and I think it can be useful in OCC) so, I have some questions about the colonies:

1. Will I loose my colonies, if an another civ builds a city beside it?

2. Do you get the extra gold from it (for example on gold mine)?

3. And finally what do you think about it (especially in OCCs)?

Any comments, suggestions warmly welcome,

cumi

1. Yes
    2. No
    3. Never made much of them... then again, never tried OCC either .
    Solver, WePlayCiv Co-Administrator
    I can kill you whenever I please... but not today. - The Cigarette Smoking Man

Comment

I have never used colonies, and I have wrecked the fortunes of several otherwise-powerful AIs that have depended on them.
      No, I did not steal that from somebody on Something Awful.

Comment

3. I don't think they will be all that helpful because the answer to #1 is an emphatic YES. You will lose them as cultural borders of the AI expand, you will need to keep some kind of defensive unit to protect the colony until it goes away, and you will need some kind of connection (road, harbor through a nearby city, etc.) between the colony and your city. And it won't be long before all the land with resources has been settled and spoken for.

If #1 were true, colonies would become more interesting and much more annoying.
        badams

Comment

I've made use of Colonies in OCC.

*** Potential AU302 Spoiler ***

Depending on how where you put your city and how fast your borders expand, I imagine you can make good use of a Colony or two in AU302.

Dominae
          And her eyes have all the seeming of a demon's that is dreaming...

Comment

I'm playing the OCC AU right now, and I'm really glad I established a spice colony.
            Within weeks they'll be re-opening the shipyards
            And notifying the next of kin
            Once again...

Comment