Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting rather bored ....

Hi all,

Well i've been dabbling with Civ 3 ptw for a fair while playing various nations mostly around Monarch level.

WHat I find rather tediuos is the fact that although i'm keeping up in tech just about, the computer nations keep attackign me , embargoing me, are always anooyed or furious even though i've not harmed them.
    What is most annoying though is the way they continuously all trade their civ advances around so i can never qeuit get in front in the tech race. I get to around industrial era all the time, which takes a while , then find I can't keep up or attack anyone cos they all have protection pacts etc etc.

Can anyone give some simple tips here cos its all getting a bit boring and repetitive. I dont particularly want to use a ' do this get this result ' tactic cos I find that not a challenge in skill at all realy just purely 'game mechanic beating' .

I'm not a gaming novice btw, played civ 2 etc loads and that was always a bit too easy , except on later levels where it cheated like a maniac ;-)

BTW playing China atm and getting close to the 'bugger this ' point again !

Cheers

Kevin

1. The key to keeping up or being slighly aheas in tech is to trade. Try and research techs that the AI doesn't. These will often be the less useful techs. If you have to trade, you don't get the advantage of having a useful tech first for long so why bother? If you can getter ahead later on, you'll want to sell techs for money. This will boost your research rate and slow down theirs. It's possible to keep up and eventually get ahead with an even or slightly worse economy than the AI easily.

Some times it seems to be that a psychological adjustment is needed to see that getting any tech first is enough to consider yourself to be keeping up in tech and being 1 tech ahead is a lead. It's not civ2.