AI Response to Victory Conditions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AI Response to Victory Conditions

Hi All! I'm new to posting around here, but I've been ghosting for a couple of months now and gained some very valuable insight. I recently started playing around with limiting the victory conditions in my games (Vanilla CIV3, Regent/Monarch levels usually) and I was wondering about the AI response to victory conditions. Does the AI research techs differently? Do they build more offensive units in a "Conquest Only" game? Do they bee-line for SS techs in Space Race? Does it affect their early game play?

Any insight is appreciated. Thanks for having such a great forum for us newbies!
    "These rocks, he thought, are here for me; waiting for the drill, the dynamite and my voice; waiting to be split, ripped, pounded, reborn; waiting for the shape my hands will give them". -Ayn Rand , The Fountainhead

Welcome aboard burly

I haven't checked it out myself, but IIRC the AIs make no response to if you turn off a couple Victory Conditions. As in, if you turned off Cultural they might still try to go for a Cultural Victory.
    meet the new boss, same as the old boss

Comment

Re: AI Response to Victory Conditions

Originally posted by burly

Thanks for having such a great forum for us newbies!
      Every one of us was a newbie a (long) time past
      Welcome abroad

Back to your question: I never read (or experienced) a change in the AI attitude relating to tech research or general behaviour if you switch off some victory conditions.
      The Mountain Sage of the Swiss Alps

Comment

I don't know and haven't seen anything on it. You could find something you could test about it. That's normally the only way to find out.