Hacker Threat!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hacker Threat!

I hope someone can help me with a question. Last night I was playing a multiplayer game with four other players. I was doing very well and took the Persians out early. Next on my list was the Americans and I took two of their cities. This player got really pissed and said something like "I've got your IP address - say goodbye to your hard drive!" I'm not really a computer expert so this freaked me out and I dropped out of the game.

My question is this - is this guy full of it? Can he really get my ip address when we are playing a game online? And, if so, can he hack into my system? I was hosting this game.

If someone can do this, it makes me not want to play multiplayer. Geez dude, it's just a game!
    "Got the rock from Detroit, soul from Motown"
    - Kid Rock "American Badass"

yes if yer hosting the game then he has to connect to u, hence its quite possible he has yer ip address.. dropping out of the game would have done squat since yer still connected to the internet :P try unplugging yer cat5 cable if yer using a cable modem..

and sont be such a wuss next time :P
    "All I ask is simple blind obedience!" - Dr. Doom

Comment

Getting your ip is no problem... but that won´t help much at all if I´m out to hack someone....
      If you´re really scared you should get a firewall or something...
      But I´m quite sure it was just empty threats, a real hacker wont be boasting about having someones ip...

what a bad loser he must have been
      And ever after, sun shone upon the land of Sunshinia...

Comment