Hurray, I graduated to diety!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hurray, I graduated to diety!!

I played emperor lvl and had some success. I never went through an entire game so that I can learn how to start effectively. I was doing huge map w/16. Then I went to diety and got nowhere. Because of the great distances between civs, I could not launch an effective attack early. I soon lost my spirit. Then I went to normal/8 and the difference was huge!

In my first game as the Greeks, I took over most of Egypt. I wouldn't give the Romans Banking, so we went to war. I had both horses and iron so I built knights. When I got Military Tradition, I traded for SP and made cavalry. Then the Germans attacked with their cavalry.

So I had a two front war. Mobilized. Kicked their butts a little. Got peace. Got a leader and built FP.

My mistakes:

1. I didn't stay in despotism long enough to pop-build everything I needed. It took a long time in Republic to build anything in fringe cities.

2. When researching Republic, I put science high because I figured I'd eventually reduce the discovery time. But it took 32 turns. Lost money there.

3. Right before I got peace with everybody, I had a revolution because Democracy gave me tons of unhappiness due to WW. I should've waited for peace or should've switched to Monarchy earlier.

4. I placed my FP on the Greek/Roman border. This will help me in the long run when I conquer the Romans, but perhaps it would've been more advantageous if I had placed it where it would've helped me immediately.

5. Early GA. I noticed the Hoplite didn't instigate my GA when defending, but did so when I took a city. I sould've left them for later, because there will always be a weak unit to destroy during the game -- longbowman.

Playing the regular-size map instead of the huge makes diety so much more playable.
    "Careful? Was my mother careful when she stabbed me in the heart with a coat hanger while I was still in the womb?" -SP