Global Warming

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Global Warming

The whole pollution thing in Civ is overdone, with irreversable and all to frequent terrain changes. I've modded my Civ3 to make buildings like banks reduce pollution to minimise the effects, but I think it needs to be a far smaller problem in Civ4.

Most people have heard the theory that the sun is currently going through an active cycle and in 60 years time we'll all be worrying about global cooling, and now i've seen an interesting new theory at http://www.cnn.com/2004/WORLD/asiapc...eut/index.html

I'm no scientist, but I do think theres enough evidence to reduce pollution effects in Civ4!!!

Please.
    "Bite my shiny metal ass" - Bender B. Rodriguez

heh. Join the chorus.

The problem is that when creating a game, the designers of the game will create reality however they see it, not necessarily as reality exists.
    Long-time poster on Apolyton and WePlayCiv
    Consul of Apolyton from the 1st Civ3 Inter-Site Democracy Game (ISDG)
    7th President of Apolyton in the 1st Civ3 Democracy Game

Comment

Exactly besides I agree that perhaps is way too much pollution in Civ, I think reallity have nothing to do when the designers decide what to do with pollution.

anyway we should start a anti-pollution and anti-corruption movement here in poly. Those darn things are the things I hate the most in civ.
      >>> El cine se lee en dvdplay <<<

Comment

It was reversible in Civ2, I never understood why they didn't leave it that way.

I've changed my game so that pollution has no global warming effects, because they made it an all-or-nothing proposition, and I don't care how well I was doing or how much fun I was having, those first few ruined tiles always depressed me and ruined the fun.
        No, I did not steal that from somebody on Something Awful.

Comment

If it were still possible to change terrain types (as in Civ2 with engineering) it would be different.