Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Air Combat -- Bring it back!

Hello All,

I've been playing Civ and reading this forum for a few years and now finally have something to post, so here goes:

After going back and playing Civ2 just for fun, I realized that I miss the way aerial warfare is conducted there. I further realized that I haven't built a single plane or carrier since the early days of Civ3. For Civ4, I'd like to see them bring back the old style where you take your bombers in and pound units/cities, then get them back home without being decimated by enemy fighters. Or what about sending a fighter out to pick off the enemy Engineers/Settlers, or in this case, workers? For me, it's better that way than seeing the plane flash by and disappear. Of course, I could just be missing some settings in the Editor. If so, I'll be quiet now.

Yup, they are going to remove the entire air combat system and add code so that C2-style air units work because you preferred it

C2's air combat was absolutely horrible.

EDIT: I see you were talking about C4. My point still stands.

Comment

Yeah, I meant the note as a suggestion for the next gen of Civ. What was so horrible about Civ2 air combat? Seems that in Civ3, the efforts of those creating graphics for air units are a bit wasted since they only flash across the attack area for less than a second. Oh well, to each his own...

Comment

While I do like the new air combat system in Civ3 I just wish there was a way to enjoy it more. Meaning slow down the animation so you can actually see the air/air-ground battle.

Not sure why so many don't like the old air combat system either.

It worked ok in SMAC(X) no?
        signature not visible until patch comes out.

Comment

Originally posted by shanorb
          What was so horrible about Civ2 air combat?
          ...I think it might have had something to do with the idea that it takes a Jet Fighter a few years to bomb a tank.