The Anvil Strategy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Anvil Strategy

I am relatively new to this (playing the original game in ToT, see my "Annoying Allies" thread, the Vikings were totally weakened by this strategy until I could take their cities, and the Russians and Sioux are now falling prey to it), but I have come up with a strategy that seems to work. I build a city that is the Anvil that breaks the enemy's Hammer. If there is a space large enough on a contintent currently controlled by an enemy to found a city, I bring over a settler/engineer and several good defensive troops (and 1 or 2 offensive units) and build a city, fortify it with my troops, and rush-build a wall, then barracks. I do this in cases where I don't have enough forces to overwhelm the enemy. The enemy then sends units to attack my well-defended city. This war of attrition can eventually wear out the enemy until I have enough troops and transports to cross the ocean with to finish the job. I can also use this city to build diplomats/spies to do their dirty work.
    [This message has been edited by towigg (edited March 22, 2001).]

Look out for dips/spies. Your city is small and far away from the capital in the scenario as you describe it. If your not in democracy, the city could be easily bribed by the enemy. The AI is dumb, butits smart enough to bribe cities. Fighters are perfect for intercepting enemy dips/spies.

Comment

You're right, towigg. The AI can't resist attacking your units when it encounters them. The AI doesn't learn from it's mistakes, doesn't calculate its chance of success, doesn't build up a big attack force, and doesn't go around such traps. (Hopefully we'll get a smarter AI in Civ3.)