hut tipping

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• hut tipping

I'm kinda new to Civ in general and I'm wondering if what I'm doing is very bad when it comes to tipping huts, I usually reload if I don't get a good result. I realize that this is akin to cheating but I can't seem to help myself. I hate, for an example, getting a free city in the worst possible location. What do some of you guys do when it comes to tipping huts?

Hi Aislyn and welcome

Most of us would probably take the huts as they come.

We all hate how the "Advance Tribes" are never quite in the right place, but that is a feature of the maths that generate the huts and the special resources.

There is a thread on "cheats" ie things the game allows you to do that are not accepted in common play, especially multiplayer, in the "Great Library" thread under the Strategy forums (fora?)

Comment

Originally posted by Fergus Horkan
      ...forums (fora?)
      Nah, forums is good. Nobody plants gerania in front of the house, after all. Leave latin to the latin fans.

There have been several threads in recent months about hut tipping. In addition to the GL, dig in the archive to see what apolytoners think.

One strategy that might get you off the habit of reloading is to explore with a diplomat and an explorer in tandem. First move the explorer onto the hut, with the diplomat adjacent. If there are barbarians, the diplomat provides a path for the explorer to run away. The diplomat can then either run away or bribe a unit or two. This way, you can get accustomed to finding bad things in huts without losing many units.

If you don't like advanced tribes, disband them and send a boat to pick up the settler. Sell the improvements first! Or just scoot over the one square needed to settle amid 4 specials.
      The first President of the first Apolyton Democracy Game (CivII, that is)

The gift of speech is given to many,
      intelligence to few.

Comment