Do AI's ever subvert cities?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do AI's ever subvert cities?

Hi all. I've been playing Civ (ToT) for about two months now (yes, almost constantly), and find the practice of paying to subvert enemy cities an essential part of my game. But the AI's don't ever seem to bother with it, even when they've got great heaping wads of cash; they'll waste units worth thousands in gold attacking a well-fortified city, but they won't send in a lousy spy and buy the place. Is this an advantage for the human player, or have I just been lucky? (Oh, and sorry if this has already been asked and answered; I only just discovered this splendid site.)
    "I have as much authority as the pope. I just don't have as many people who believe it." — George Carlin

Dear Groucho fan

It depends on a few things:

- what level of the game you are playing (at Deity the AI certainly bribes the human player's cities)
    - how much money you have got (if loads, then the cost of subverting increases)
    - what government you are in
    - whether you have built courthouses (which double the price)

You should try the Strategy thread for loads of tips.

Welcome to Apolyton - first step to winning at Civ!

Comment

The AI will incite revolts - i've gotten quite a few travellers reports about them doing so. Since I play with representative governments most of the game and go to democracy fairly early and tend to bribe AI diplomats whenever I see them, I don't usually have it happen to me. I did have the AI bribe a city of mine in a senario where I was stuck in monarchy once, though. As for subverting vs simply inciting revolts, since the AI don't seem to have any penalties attached to that like we humans do, I doubt they actually spend the extra gold.

------------------
      Sleep is a luxury and I don't have Shakespeare's Theatre in my back yard.
      Insert witty phrase here

Comment

Welcome to Apolyton, Rufus. It is a splendid site, isn't it?