Probe Activities

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Probe Activities

What's the difference between Mind Control and Total Thought Control?

Last night, as Data Angels, I decided to go ahead and see if I can use my probe team to take over the entire terrority of the Drones to my southwest. I've not played SMAC in a long time (3 years) and this is my first time playing SMAX other than demos. I vaguelly recall that I was able to use a probe team to take over entire faction at once.

So my probe team waltzed into one of Drones' base and I had the following options - Mind Control (or something like that) and Total Thought Control. I assumed that the first option would just take over that particular base and the second is all about taking over the entire faction.

Via saving and loading, I tried both and I succeed on both options. Yet I only took that base with both options so I'm wondering what's the difference?
    Who is Barinthus?

Total Thought Control is only available if you are at peace with your target. It's more difficult than Mind Control, but if successful, your reputation does not suffer from the probe action.

However, I have no idea about how we are supposed to imagine what is happening in our SMAC word. Maybe with Total Thought Control, you make it look to the other faction as though the base had always been yours?

Comment

So with Mind Control, my reputation would suffer while with Total Thought Control it wouldn't?

There's no way to take over the entire faction via a probe activity?

I hate not having a manual and only datalinks as my resource
      Who is Barinthus?

Comment

If you're at peace with a faction and use mind control it counts as an attack.
        If you're at peace with a faction and use total thought control then the action remains subvert and the other player/AI has no right to attack you, so the peace remains.

atleast thats the way its always seemed to work for me.