Placing a unit on alert?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Placing a unit on alert?

What does "placing a unit on alert" do? I've been placing my missiles on "alert". Does it attack any enemy entering your border, in your border, attacking you or what? What causes it to activate? Thanks.
    Visit the Cold War Scenario at http://www2.crosswinds.net/~wesley317/cold.html

Can't ever say that I am an expert on the "alert" feature, but I'd hate to see your thread sink out of sight without some replies...

The reason I am not an expert on missile alerts is that I like to have control over when and where my missiles fire. Alerted missiles will happily hit anything in range without being able to discriminate between a good target and a silly one.

I much prefer reusable units whenever possible over missiles anyway. But when I do invest the resources to build missiles, I want to make sure that they are not going to get wasted on a former when the enemy rovers are in range.

This can particularly be a problem if you share a landmass with another faction that you suddenly go to war with. Not so bad if you are on an island or have a continent to yourself.

Comment

Putting a missile on alert status by default turns the control of that missile over to the computer. Now as Red points out that is inherently a bad thing as the AI is almost inevitably a pathetic general.

The only time I ever heard of a missile gaining you something in alert stauts was to take advantage of the now defunct infinite range bug. In the prepatch days you could set your missile (conventional or planet busting variety) on alert and the computer could launch them to destination far outside your normal range. Aah for the good old days. Hey wait a sec. we've got incoming bogie missiles. Where in the heck did they come fro................

"Just puttin on the foil" - Jeff Hanson