1UPT - A Discussion

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1UPT - A Discussion

A lot of different threads are currently talking about the merits/detriments of 1UPT. I would like to see a focused discussion on why some love it, why some hate it, and how this new concept can be properly applied to the Civilization series.

I've been playing this series since ~1997 when I started playing CivII at a friend's house. I was hooked from the start and put several hundred hours into what I still consider to be one of my favorite games of all time. In CivII a stack was very vulnerable - the death of the defender meant the death of every unit in the square. Because of this issue we saw rule changes that introduced collateral damage and the death of just one unit at a time in a stack. In turn this led to the the Stack of Death (SoD), an enormous group of units piled into one coherent army that could steamroll its way across an opponent's empire. Because of this issue the developers of Civ V introduced One Unit Per Tile (1UPT), an attempt to fix once and for all the ubiquitous SoD.

So after that brief (and unnecessary) history lesson, let's talk about some of the pros and cons of 1UPT:

Pros
    • Fixes SoD
    • Coupled with ranged units, introduces actual tactics to warfare.
    • Allows for true "chokepoints" wherein one unit can theoretically hold back an entire army (think "300").
    • Can mimic how a real battlefield is arranged (You can't have multiple tank, artillery and infantry divisions all occupying the same space at the same time.)

Cons
    • Leads to traffic jams along roads. This is especially frustrating when an AI opponent with one unit (usually a scout) blocks the road leading to a different opponent you are at war with.
    • Micromanagement of units when moving them across the map.