Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beating Colonization

I need some help...

I am new to COL and even on the 2nd dif level I get my arse spanked whenever I declare independence. In my latest game I had 4 forts and cities, 3 on one small island and a 4th on a larger chunk of land. every city had 3 artillery and at least 4 dragoons. Also, every square of land on the small island had at least 1 dragoon and the two hills had 3 fortified dragoons each.

My first thought was that the REF shouldn't have been able to land in the first place but they did. Then, why I was able to hold my ground for a while, they just kept coming, and coming... and coming...

The 4th city on the larger land mass fell fairly quickly but I wasn't concerned about that. The other three held out for a while but eventually I was wiped out. All of my cities had a ton of liberyy bells and at least %60 of the pop was in favor of rebellion. My main city was at or very close to 100% rebellion. I know this has something to do with moral and all but I'm not sure what.

At various times I spawned continental armies after winning a battle (and I had George Washington) but they didn't seem to do much better in holding off the REF. Finally, every city on the island had a fortresss, which I would have thought would make it darn near impossible to overcome. But like I said, the REF just kept coming... And yes, I had frigates and privateers to try and intercept the REF at sea. I never saw their ships coming, just their troops land and slowly but steadly take me apart.

Some tips would be greatly appreciated! Is there something else I needed to do to stop the REF onslaught? Did I just not have enough troops stuffed in my cities? If that is the case on easy level I can't imagine how hard it must be to score a victory on the hardest levels. I can dig up the save file of right before I declared independence if someone would care to see my exact preparations.

Thanks in advance for the help!