is there a "guide"?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• is there a "guide"?

I am new to the whole creation thing.. everyone here seems to be an expert. I would like to know if someone here has put together a "manual" that is somewhat easier to understand than the given help menu (yeah, I know... RTFM, stupid).

I don't have PTW, just the editor with the 1.29f patch (I think).
    "A civilization unable to tell the difference between illusion and reality is usually believed to be at the tail end of its existence" - John Ralston Saul

Well there are those threads at the top of the Creation page, though I suspect that they're somewhat dated. Your best bet is just to open up the editor and have a look around. If you run into something you don't understand, or if something you try that doesn't work, just ask a question here or over at CivFanatics. Someone's bound to answer you.

For the most part the serious modders have just learned by trial and error, with a few tips from others thrown in. BTW, I'd recommend PTW if you want to do any modding, it has a few more nice features.

Comment

Yeah... I'm picking up PTW today... just pissed at firaxis/infogames/whatever for making us fork up more money for MP.

Unless someone wants to just send me one...
      "A civilization unable to tell the difference between illusion and reality is usually believed to be at the tail end of its existence" - John Ralston Saul

Comment

Originally posted by djafrot
        Yeah... I'm picking up PTW today... just pissed at firaxis/infogames/whatever for making us fork up more money for MP.

Unless someone wants to just send me one...
        They have a right to make a buck just like anyone else. Considering all the improvements they've made in the last several patches, I'd say the game's still fairly good value for the money.