Adding New Unit Graphics

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Adding New Unit Graphics

I am new to editing the game and had a few questions about making unit graphic additions.

Has anyone done a tutorial on how to add a new unit with all new graphics? Whenever I try to make an addition to the units_32 file I always have problems. For some reason whenever I make an addition and then go into the Civ3 Editor to edit the units the icons are always messed up. Is this going to mean that the units will be messed up in the game? How can I make an addition to the units_32 file without having problems?

Thanks
    For your photo needs:
    http://www.canstockphoto.com?r=146

Sell your photos

You need to use a program that saves 8-bit PCX-files. You problem sounds as if you are using an unsupported format.
    Creator of the Civ3MultiTool

Comment

Programs

I have Photoshop 6.0, Jasc Paintshop Pro 7, and Animation Shop 3. Which one of these programs is best to use? To edit the file do I only need to add a new unit graphic to a new box at the end oif the file?
      For your photo needs:

Sell your photos

Comment

I use PSP myself. Just make sure you don't increase the number of colors.

Comment

Civ3 CopyTool

Whenever I try to use the Civ3 copy tool and hit copy the program tells me that it needs to close. Could this be because I am using Windows XP? I did get it to work once but then when I went to edit the unit everything got all messed up. Whenever I am in the copytool window and load a bic file the copy unit drop down box doesn't show any units either.

Is there anyway to create a new unit without using the copytool?
          For your photo needs:

Sell your photos

Comment

There's a Hacked CivEdit in the Files forum, with Add and Delete buttons, but you have to write the .ini file yourself
            Up the Irons!
            Rogue CivIII FAQ!
            Odysseus and the March of Time