Advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice

HI everyone. I am a new beginner at the game. I have played four times so far, and for the first time I am actually winning! I am playing the Romans with the French as my only competitor, on the Chieftain level. I have built up my culture to a fairly high degree, and have amassed a fair amount of cities. The French are lower in units than me and are impressed by my culture.
    The dilemma is this: The city of Marseilles decided to switch allegiance to my side and I accepted. Was this the right choice? The French immediately declared war on me, and sent their troops to do battle. I repelled them easily enough, but now am faced with different options. Do I still keep on building army units for further attacks? The problem there is that I am on the limit of units allowed without digging into my gold reserves. And if I do, then I will get behind on the culture. Or do I attack France? I have noticed that when you attack your units do not fare as well as when you defend. Or do I offer a peace deal?
    Another thing. Corruption! I have a terrible amount of it, even though I am building Courthouses and other buildings mentioned in the manual to combat it. How do I stop it or at least reduce it?
    Lastly, when I use a worker to build mines over a citizen's square to produce more shields, the shields it produces are the red ones, which are waste, so I cannot see how this can help me.
    Thanks for reading this,
    Kev.

Re: Advice

Originally posted by surferskj
    The dilemma is this: The city of Marseilles decided to switch allegiance to my side and I accepted. Was this the right choice?
    Absolutely! Seeing as the name was Marseilles it was obviously near the interior of their land which gives you an instant base to attack from.