Withdraw problems??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Withdraw problems??

Hi, im new to civ3, (previously from ctp2/civ2ToT) and im in my 1st game (apart from the tutorial) and several times now, that i've asked a civ to withdraw their troops, they agree, and they're still exploring my land after i told them to leave.

I have got the recent patch (121f) even-tho i havent quite looked through the whole of the fixes of it.

I was just wondering if this was some sort of bug or am I missin' something

The game HAS lived up to my expectations so far (i've had the game now for...10hrs)

The one thing i didn't know, as i haven't been on the civ3 forums is the oh-so aggrivating thing (like the previous civ-games)wher you've got about 200 workers all over your goddam terrotry building roads, mines,irrigations etc... I didn't realise the PW feature on ctp2 was so good!

Anyway just wanted to know about the withdraw thing.

In fact the first request is considered as a 'polite request'. Sometimes the AI goes away, often not. If you ask it again a few turns later, the request should be something like 'Withdraw or prepare for war'. If you are in good relations with the AI, it will accept and its units will be removed automatically; else... have good military units.
    Of course, it works the same way for you when your units are within the AI's territory.
    Nym
    "Der Krieg ist die bloße Fortsetzung der Politik mit anderen Mitteln." (Carl von Clausewitz, Vom Kriege)

Comment

basically, having a strong military is the key to civ3. If you have a strong miliatry and show that you're prepared to use it, the AI will not mess with you. If they think you're a wimp, they'll march all over your territory, demand techs and resources from you and just generally bully you.