Attn: Lock-Up Bug (reproducable)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Attn: Lock-Up Bug (reproducable)

I did this last night, I knew it shouldn't work... but I didn't expect it to lock up. Thank god for the the autosaves.

During upkeep I had just discovered feudalism (maybe a few turns passed). I zoomed to a city to change production. Right-clicked on a spearman, clicked "upgrade to pikeman" and it upgraded. I then right-clicked on the pikeman and clicked the "fortify" option. No sooned than I finished the game locked up. I loaded up an autosave of the last turn and zoomed manually to a city and tried again. Same result.

what I see going on:

Using my experiance as a programmer, I suspect that the right-click menu appears, but does not check if the unit has already moved. When you upgrade a unit it marks that unit as 'moved'.

To fortify a unit you need a movement point left (you can fortify and unfortify till the cows come home, which is great since I often fortify something that I didn't want to... damn fast computers). The context sensitive menu that appears should only show the disband option, unless that requires a movement point, which depends on implementation. If that is not the case, then right-clicking should not show any options for a unit in a city that has already moved (via the city screen).

Again, this is based on what I am guessing the implementation is. I could be wrong, but if an order is not allowed because there are no movement points left, the order should not appear on the right-click menu in the city view.

-Steg