No announcement yet.

Great New Ways to Add Units and such...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Great New Ways to Add Units and such...

...but where will we get the graphics? Making them for technologies is easy, considering it'll just be that little box there. (Unless there's someplace else you will see that technology?)

I know I'm no artist, so I'll have to depend on other people, as will many others I'm sure. I'm not saying "Go out and make units, wonders, etc for me", but it would be nice if, to keep in stride with the release of ways to add units, someone created general unit graphics, wonder graphics, etc to be used with whatever a user decides to create (So you can make 'em real general. Or real specific if that's what you have in mind) But the point is: someone make some graphics.

Oh, and don't call me lazy. I don't have any graphics editing software, and the stuff costs a bundle. And even if I did have it, I couldn't use it. So I'm simply not talented in that area and requesting the services of people who are.

Bump

Comment

Gimme 7 months and I can help you
      Second official member of OfAPeCiClu [as of 27-07-2001 12:13pm]: We will force firaxis to make a GOOD game through our sheer negativity!

Comment

Wasn't it posted someplace on the official site that you could make the game use Civ2-style 2D icons instead of animated units? I don't know how you do that, though. A guess, that I haven't tested (having trouble getting the game to run), is that it uses the 2D icon of the specified number from the file "units_32.pcx" (where it seems to get the icons it shows in the editor) in the \art\units folder if it can't find a folder in the art\units folder with the same name as the unit. There are 10 blank icon cells in "units_32.pcx" - I don't know what happens if you add more.

Comment

Those icons in the .pcx file that you were refering to are used as the icon in the build queue, and in the civilopedia as well i think.

Comment