Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Civs attacking even when they are polite...?!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Civs attacking even when they are polite...?!

In all my recent games (playing Conquests on regent or monarch - I'm too scared to try higher), I have been the main target of friends and foes alike - and as I am a builder, this has put a strain on my peaceful nature

Imagine a Civ that is on 'polite' terms with you, and which has several trade routes with you slowly amassing troops on your border, and that very politely attacks you without warning with all its might...

While Civs that are annoyed are quite predictable in their behavior if you don't do something to apease them, It is quite impossible to change the plans of a polite civ that plans to annihilate you. I've tried trading for more luxuries and stuff, but they don't care - even if it means all their cities will be in civil disorder the next turn by losing all those trade routes (even losing strategic resources like iron!).

It seems a bit illogical - if they hate me that much, why does their attitude stay on 'polite'? I actually had to change my style of play to accomodate for the excess fighting - expecially since they often won't even respond to any contact requests for a number of turns.

Lately I was able to find a first clue for this strange behavior - I mostly play on large random maps with max. number of players, and you quickly reach the maximum size of your territory as you reach your neighbors. Depending on the size of their civ, they will attack you even when on polite terms with you because they simply need more space to survive. I can understand that, and as it is predictable I am always prepared for this. But what about a civ that has plenty of space to develop? Is it greed? Is it because the extension's name is Conquests? :beatsme:

Any insights apreciated!
    "Give me a soft, green mushroom and I'll rule the world!" - TheArgh