When to attack as an early warmonger?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When to attack as an early warmonger?

Ok, I'm a builder by preference, but wanted to try some warmongering early (I've always been jealous of all the MGL that the militaristic cultures get!). That causes a problem, since my habits are not those that support playing an Aztec and going on the early offensive! In a game I started, I was busily expanding madly; I had probably...hmmm, 17-20 towns and area 'protected' to fill in another 5. Had 2 cultures near me (Spain, America) and another 2 (Dutch and er, someone else) not that far away.

I was building plenty of Jag Warriors, but then I realized that I was now facing enemies with lots of spearmen and some archers for their attack.

Did I wait too long, in my typical Builder Mentality, to start the attack? I was hoping to have a base to support enough troops, as well as make my GA be worth a bit more that if I attacked too soon. Or is this typical, that you just need to be ready to swarm the spearmen?

Game is on monarch level, my preferred "fun" level to game (Emperor just takes too much time, around the interuptions of RL).

Thanks in advance

The sooner the better.

The longer you wait, the more time the enemy has to build up.
    *"Winning is still the goal, and we cannot win if we lose (gawd, that was brilliant - you can quote me on that if you want. And con - I don't want to see that in your sig."- Beta

Comment

I play monarch level as well and 9 times out of 10 engage in early wars.

Sometimes you have no choice in the matter as the ai will declare war on you first but assuming this isn't the case with you here's my advice.

I wait until I have at least 4-6 towns in place. At least two of them should have a barracks and do nothing but crank out units. The other towns can alternate between producing military units and city improvements/workers/settlers what have you.