Resource Frustration

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Resource Frustration

While playing on a huge map, with 9 civs total, and having reached AD 450, I discovered only 2 civs have access to Iron (1 source each). This was getting well into the game, and I was busily exploring, mostly in search of iron, and without success.
    I've been annoyed at the paucity of resources before but had learned to adapt (my wars are for resources). A world lacking iron, tho', makes for a boring game. When and if I find some I don't want to be stuck in the modern era sending MI and MA in against pathetic spearmen and archers. What kind of war is that? Where's the fun?
    I figured that game was an anomoly, so I gave it up and have been trying to get another one going, but iron (and now horses) is as hard to find as it was before. Now the whole scarce resource situation is bugging me again.
    It took me over a year, from the time I started playing Civ, to be content with whatever starting position I had and learn to adjust. But the last few days I find myself falling back on the old habit of restarting the game numerous times.
    I thought about modding the game so I'd have more resources around, but I can't find a way to do that short of making my own map--which takes the fun out of exploring.
    I tried playing with more civs, smaller maps, harder and easier levels, but the frustration remains, and all I can do is whine incessently and complain bitterly .
    Sigh. I may have to go back to playing PtW.
    Thanks for listening
    "We may be in a hallucination here, but that's no excuse for being delusional!." K.S. Robinson, 'The Years Of Rice And Salt.'

I have not tried this, but it looks like if you changed the occurrence ratio in the editor, you could get more of a given resource.

I forget how you do it, but by making a new conquest.biq you would get maps with the new rules.

Maybe someone from the creation forum could tell us.

Comment