Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rome ....

Hi,

Just playing The rise of Rome, and seem to be experiencing the fact that teh AI nations - especially Celts and Carthage - are producing ridiculous amounts
    of units.

Carthage has approx 15-20 cities, and is landing between 4 and 8 cavalry and swordsmen per turn on Sicily ( oh and it seems to have about 16 ships too ), and the Celts are throwing waves of swordsmen at me. I must have killed literally dozens of units, yet it seems to have endless amounts of them. There is no respite either - no build up period or anything just wave after wave of them. Anyone else noticed this ... playing on monarch level atm.

I am convinced there is no way those nations can be producing that fast ( ??)

Cheers

umm,

im no expert but i only finished playing rise of rome at monarch level last weekend.

yes i found that the celts had LOADS of units, but only in the latter half.
    cant say about cartage cause i killed them off ( while staying at peace wit all other civs)

tho when i finished the cartagians and was proceeding to wipe out the macedonians (who were being attacked by every civ) i had many sweaty moments becuase the celts marched around 60 units straight across my empire to get at the macedonians (which i wiped out before they got their ) i didnt have the balls to ask them to leave cause i already had 2 fronts by then and was waiting to build my FB near their land before i wanted to attack them.

so yea i found that they produced lots of units, particularly the persians, who had LOADS of heavy calvery (on one occasion i saw 20 of them attack one city, not mine ).

Comment

Drambuie,

Sounds to me like you've made the mistake of fighting a two-front war in this game. What I really like about this game is that it's more than just Rome beating the snot out of everyone else. You NEED to play a good diplomatic game as well.