A real "Test of Time" mission

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A real "Test of Time" mission

I'm new to TOT, but like the idea of multiple maps. Today, I was driving a long haul and a thought struck me. I figure this would have to be done in the game engine itself, but I'll post my idea just for fun.

In the new TOT, the idea is to win - get to AC, conquer everyone, etc, etc. But there is another victory. If you force your way through the tech tree, you eventually discover time travel.

Imagine that as you play, the autosave feature saves each turn of the game. It also keeps an special save. Every so often, the current turn is "special saved", overwriting the last one. The player never knows when this is happening.

At the end of the teck tree, there are a number of components for building a time machine. In each game, the Time Travel goal and mechanics change (they are randomly set). Different components reveil differernt mechanics/goals. When all are learned, the time-travel wonder can be built. Some components:

Temperal Apature: Determines how much can be shifted through time. One of the following will be in effect...
    1)Keyhole - only one man can go back, then the time travel portal colapses.
    2)Door - The portal is only up long enough for a single unit to go back. No more units can ever be shipped.
    3)Swinging door - Like a door, but a unit can be shipped each time the wonder is built.
    4)Portal - Stays open. Units can flood through.

Temperal Stratagy: This determines the best way "time" can be used (i.e. what the time victory goal is).
    1) Chronokrieg: The goal is to take over the world "downtime". What happens to the current world is unimportant.
    2) Early Escape: The sun is going nova soon, and the solar flares are too bad to work on an AC ship in our time. Go back and build a ship before the sun activity started.