Should I get it?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should I get it?

I know ToT has been around for awhile now, but I have never gotten around to getting it. I love Civilization and Test Of Time looks like a worthwhile addition to it, but I was just wondering whether it is worth buying it.
    Thanks for any input.

Vazirov

Well, to be brutally honest, I was a tad disappointed when I first got TOT myself. I liked the High Council and sometimes watched the wonder movies. And I had gotten hooked by the windows based scenario building tools on the cheat menus. Plus, maybe its because my eyesight isn't all that great, but I also found the graphics dark and hard to see.

However, once I started playing TOT, it quickly grew on me. I don't think I could go back to playing on one map after the extended game. Especially since recently I made myself a quickie fun scenario (mainly for practice) on four maps with tons of units that can zip all over the place on them. You can blow raspberries at the Vikings on Map 3 when they threaten you because they can't come and get you, can they? Well, unless they get a Spelljammer boat that can cross between the spheres or a mage who can planeshift then they can come and visit you (these things are in my scenario, but there are comperable things in the games that come with the product).

Also, If you change your screen resolution to at least 1024x768, the graphics are much brighter and easier to see. I think Microprose should have put this warning in huge letters on the startup screen for install so people like me who have an aversion to readme files could see it. :-)

Also, as is great with a game like Civilization, there is a ton of "customer support" in the form of sites like this one, and there are new graphic patches out so you can get brighter graphics and ideas for new things for scenarios.