Preview & Creation: SPQR

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Preview & Creation: SPQR

Hullo lads & lasses, I shall reveal what I have been working on for the last couple of weeks. One might ask why I would do this and not finish anything else closer to the beta test or more advanced - be advised that now that I graduated and re-enrolled as a PhD student, I have more motivation for Civ2 helps killing time. And secondly I am quite sick & tired of tanks, fighter planes & all that other vile modern stuff. Nuff 'bout that, here y'all go with the information.

S.P.Q.R.

As the (provisional) name indicates, it will be a scenario about Rome. Not the Rome one would know if anyone said "Rome", much more a Rome before all that history book-style stuff happened.

* The timeframe ranging from 373 a.u.c. - 380 B.C. - up to the First Punic War.

* The map being one of Italy, Sicily, Sardinia & Corsica as well as parts of the Illyrian Coast and the northern parts of what today is Tunesia.

* The civilizations being the (protagonist) Roman Republic, Carthago, the Etruscan League, the Samnites, Syracusae and the Greeks of Magna Graecia.

* And the introductory background text:

About a decade after the Romans managed to capture Veii, the richest city of the Etrurian League, a new threat arose. A band of cisapine Gauls under their chieftain Brennus invaded the Etruscan province of Siena and attacked the town of Clusium. The Clusians, however, overwhelmed by the size of the enemy in numbers and ferocity, called on Rome for help, despite being neither allies nor friends.

Rome, weakened by recent wars, sent a delegation to investigate the situation. Negotiations broke down, resulting in a member of a powerful patrician family killing one of the Gallic leaders. The Gauls demanded the Fabians be handed over to them for justice.