Newbie looking to participate in MP games

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie looking to participate in MP games

Hi! I'm a relative newbie at Civ IV. Prior to Civ IV I was obsessed with Alpha Centauri, so I'm not new to turn based strategy games; I just haven't played Civ IV enough to get a good handle on its nuances.

I've been playing it more often lately, and now I'm interested in trying out a multiplayer game. I'm just not sure where to start. I am not a competitive player--I prefer more to build rather than conquer--so this "diplogame" concept sounds intriguing. How might I get in on one of those? I'm in Ontario, Canada (Eastern time), but I'm working over the summer, so sometime at night would work best for me.

Also, what exactly does Play-by-email entail? From what I gather it's a long-term sort of game, but how does one play Civ IV over email ... how exactly does that work?

Hehe like you. My main attention has been on SMAC so coming late to CivIV.

I am learning all the time: squeezing in SP Civ4 games while playing some MP Civ4 games.

Anyhow I am available.
    On the ISDG 2012 team at the heart of CiviLIZation

Comment

Regarding play by email (Pbem). It is turn based. When you play and end your turn, the game informs you, the turn has been saved (in the Pbem saves folder, I think) and then is ready to be sent via email to the next player.

You need to know the email address of the next player to be able to send the turn on and this is sorted at the start.

At this forum there is a game turn tracking thread (each game is usually given a distinctive name eg Tacky's First, so players can keep track of the game through time).

So the turn is sent to you. You save it to a folder in the CivIV Folder, usually the Civ4 pbem saves folder.

To play MP games you will need a password. To play Pbem you need just one.

In SMAC MP the password is set either by the game designer, CMN or left for you to set your own password.