Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Panzer vs Cavalry?

Hello all,

I'm quite new to this game and probably will be forever after what I witnessed yesterday.

I was playing a normal game on noble with Germany. I was attacked by China from the other continent and they took a city with cavalry, cannons and Grenadiers.

I counter attacked with Panzers and they were beaten (in the field) by Cavalry!
    Come one! WTF is this? I easily beat galeons and frigates with submarines and destroyers. But get my panzer *ss kicked by grenadiers and American civilwar cavalry!

And just to be clear it didn't took them a whole stack, see. They beat a tank with one unit of grenadiers in the city and some cavalry and old cannons in the field.

Can somebody explain me one and other about this? Thanks.

First and foremost: Chances are never absolute, at least not in Civ - you can have 99.9% chance of winning the battle, but that also means, that you have a 0.1% loosing it, which means it still occurs occasionaly. BTW, when you attack, the chances of success are labeled in the bottom left corner of the screen and you can see details of past battles in the game-log (press a button in the top left corner of the main screen in order to access it).

Secondly: Your decription of what exactly happened is rather vague. From what i can tell from the sentence ´They beat a tank with one unit of grandiers in the city and some cavalry and old cannons in the field´, it was not you attacking on your turn, but them on theirs; and that they did attack a single unit multiple times during that turn. That means, that your tank took damage from previous attacks, during the same turn, before it was finally destroyed. Note that Cavalry can retreat, so some of them might have survived the attack, despite not having destroyed the tank.