Road To War -- Hardware Problems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Road To War -- Hardware Problems

I really liked the “Desert War” scenario in CivIV, and the “Road To War” scenarios in BtS look even better. Unfortunately, my computer hardware seems to be insufficient to run those scenarios -- I’m getting “Virtual Memory Insufficient” errors, and/or crashes when loading saves. For the record, I’m using the 3.17 BtS download and the Ultimate RtW download; since I was able to run the “Final Frontier“ scenario, I assume my problem is specific to RtW.

I’m a retired programmer/analyst, but my useful knowledge of PCs ended with the passing of DOS. I need advice on what I should do in today’s computing world.

My computer is a Gateway DX200X --
    CPU: Pentium 4, 3.06 GHz
    System: Windows XP, SP3, with current automatic updates
    RAM: 504 MB
    Hard drive: 80 GB, 52 GB free
    Graphics: “Integrated Intel Graphic Media Accelerator 900 with up to 128 MB shared memory”

I can’t find any info about the sound hardware, but I’ve been turning off all sound since the days of the original Civ; I can only hope that the problem is elsewhere. I’m guessing the problem is with graphics.

So -- I have absolutely no interest in either fancy sounds or graphical eye candy. I’m not going to shell out big bucks for some SuperGamer Screamer system, but I’m willing to upgrade my hardware solely to access RtW (assuming I can find any necessary hardware compatible with my 4-year-old computer). Do any of you techie types out there have any advice or suggestions?

500 mb RAM is pretty small by games these days (even in BtS days). You should really upgrade that to 2 gig. And it's very cheap to do. That'll increase your performance by heaps, just that one simple act.

Comment

Thanks for your really prompt reply.