Ok, so I'm dead - where's the fun ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ok, so I'm dead - where's the fun ?

I've just retired in disgust from my first BtS game. Year was 1854 and suddenly, out of the blue and with no warning, almost everybody declared war on me ... even guys that were pleased with me the previous turn, even meek ai civs on which I'd lavished old tech to help them through ...

The story so far : I'm a veteran Civ I and II player (where my score went so high as to overflow its alloted space on Deity, of course, like for everybody else on this forum I guess). I played a little Civ III but didn't like it - it felt like someone programmed the game to get revenge for those scoring buffer overflows in Civ II, not to provide the player with fun.

I recently started playing Civ IV (yes, I waited till the "Civ IV Complete" sold for 9.99€, shame on me ...). Read the ending chapter of the manual where the designer (Sorensen ? forgot his name) explained that he wanted to make a game that was as much fun to play as Civ I and II and thought "ah ! this guy really got it ! he really aimed at the best design goal he could have : provide the players with FUN !". Made my way up winning a game on noble, prince, monarch and finally emperor. These games were all a lot of fun, to the point where I chose to replay my "emperor" game almost from the beginning, to try another strategy.