Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is it feasible to just conquer every city, maintenance wise?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is it feasible to just conquer every city, maintenance wise?

Hi, I recently started playing Civ4 and I am wondering, if, late in the game, it is feasible to just take over every city in the game.

I am currently at war with the evil Americans, and taking over every city... but my cash flow is decreasing as well. It might be because of increasing war weariness and the 400 gold per turn I have to pay for oil... but I wonder, when the war will end, will I get a huge disadvantage from going from 8 cities to about 22? And if I took over my whole continent of about 40 cities, would that be bad due to maintenance destroying my economy?

Is the old idea of just conquering every enemy city possible (and everyone is an enemy when I play as Kublai Khan) or is it no longer feasible at all?

I am worried about this simply because of my bad experience in my first few games of over-expanding and going bankrupt, losing 20+ units due to cash.

Also, is there a maximum amount of cash per city to pay, so that there isn't for example a bigger disadvantage in having 100 cities instead of 50? Or does it keep increasing?

Maintenance costs are increased in Civ4, in order to kill off infinate city sprawl (ICS).

So in general the answer to your question would be that it is not overly feasible.

Maintenance is even worse over water.

But on one land mass, not too big a map, and on lower levels, yes it is possible.

If aiming for a conquest victory, it is IMO better to raze as you go, having a secondary clean up force to mop up any new cities that the AI may pop up behind you.