Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need civ4 gamers/developers to answer few questions

Hello!

I'm a student at the University of Nottingham working on my MA dissertation. I've chosen to study user motivations to participate in value creating activities in online gaming communities. My research focuses on identifying user motives to innovate, contribute to the community, and collaborate with companies. Contributions that I have in mind are such things as ideas for game-improvement, add-ons, new scenarios, maps, artwork etc.

I will be listing my questions in this thread and would really appreciate it if those of you who are able to answer a given question shared your answers with me. I am open to conducting it on this thread or through alternative online methods which might be more convenient for you (pm, chat, email etc).

Please also let me know if you are ok with or would not like me to use your usernames when quoting your answers in my dissertation.

I am willing to provide a copy of my findings to any user that participates if they contact me and request one. If you have any additional questions regarding my research please do not hesitate to contact me.

Many thanks in advance!

P.S. People who post in the "Civ4 Creation" section will be especially relevant to this study!
    Last edited by Kia11; September 6, 2008, 10:50.

ONLINE INTERVIEW QUESTIONS

To give you an idea of the motives (reasons to do something) that I’m trying to establish, some of the following listed examples might be related to your answers although I’m not excluding other motives which might arise from your answers: fun, curiosity, quality-assurance, information-seeking, developing skills/gaining knowledge, influence game publishers (companies), recognition, career opportunities, passionate about brand, being helpful, making friends, and feelings of obligation to the community.

The interview questions are listed below. Please answers those that you are able to.