Being Financial on Marathon Game Speed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Being Financial on Marathon Game Speed

I'm not used to playing on Marathon speed, but now I'm trying it as Elizabeth on Emperor difficulty. I emphasized research and I have a HUGE lead on everyone else. This is not usually the case on Emperor difficulty. Plus, I had already reached the renaissance shortly after 1 AD (or maybe even sooner, not sure).

It leads me to think that on Marathon speed, Financial carries a far greater benefit than it usually does. I mean, I was more than twice ahead in points.

Bah, not for me. By the time i have three cities up & running, money starts rolling in... i end up getting invaded by Genghis Khan &/or Alexander. I'm new to the game but i have picked it up real quick except for one very important thing... warmongering. I'm not good at it & i don't like doing it.
    Strength & Honor!

Comment

Warmongering is not as hard as you might think. What you need for it is to research techs that give you military units and then build them. And then attack. That way, the AI doesn't attack you. Which is good.

I know that sometimes it feels like you can't delay building that granary or library. Or market, harbor, grocer... But you need to snap out of it and consider what is best for the empire as a whole. Don't ask what your civ can do for your cities, but what your cities can do for your civ. :P

Comment

Zenn-La, drop to a level one below your comfort level, choose an aggressive civ, and go on a warmongering spree. See if you can achieve a domination victory on a large map while in control of Monty, Shaka, Tokugawa, or Boudica. What you will learn is the give and take of warmongering, how to attack, undsoweiter. These skills will teach you how to fight.